Electrical Infrastructure ConstructionNational Certificate (Vocational)

About this programme:

The National Certificate (Vocational) offers learners a vocational alternative to an academic Grade 10-12 by offering specialised training on NQF levels 2-4.

If you would like to qualify with a specialised NQF level 4 certificate (Grade 12 equivalent) that will enable you to find relevant employment once qualified, the National Certificate (Vocational) is for you.

Once you have completed this course you can start working as a learner electrician in any number of industries.

How is the programme structured?
The National Certificate (Vocational) is a three year qualification made up of three certificates obtained in NQF Levels 2, 3 and 4. 

What will I learn?

The Fundamentals subjects (Levels 2,3,4) are:

  • English First Additional Language
  • Life Orientation
  • Mathematics

The Vocational subjects for the Electrical Infrastructure Construction National Certificate (Vocational) are:

  • Electrical Principles and Practices (Levels 2,3,4)
  • Workshop Practice (Level 2)
  • Electronic Control and Digital Electronics (Levels 2,3,4)
  • Electrical Systems and Construction (Levels 2,3,4)
  • Electrical Workmanship (Levels 3,4)
  • Renewal Energy Technology (Level 2)

Electrical Principles and Practices (Levels 2,3,4)
This subject covers the principal aspects of electric and magnetic theory as well as materials and components used, DC and AC circuits, circuit diagrams and protection and measuring instruments.

Workshop Practice (Level 2) 
This component of the programme teaches the learner safety and regulations and worksite procedures required in the electrical field. It also covers tools and equipment usage along with soldering and gas welding.

Electronic Control and Digital Electronics (Levels 2,3,4) 
Covering some of the finer basics of the programme, Electronic Control and Digital Electronics will equip the learner with knowledge regarding components, circuit drawings, binary theory and basic computer components.

Electrical Systems and Construction (Levels 2,3,4)
This subject covers aspects of basic electrical circuits and systems, wire-ways and low voltage cables, electric machines and fault finding.

Electrical workmanship (Levels 3,4) 
Electrical Workmanship teaches trade specific skills and knowledge, so that students can maintain, repair and construct basic electrical systems in practice.

What are the entrance requirements?
The minimum entrance requirement for the National Certificate (Vocational) at Level 2 on the NQF is a Grade 9 Certificate or NQF Level 1 equivalent.

Which campus is this course offered at?
This programme is offered at Mthatha Campus.

How do I enrol?
You will be required to complete a Career, Maths and English assessment in order to apply for this programme.